Welcome to Undergraduate Research Council

What is it:

The Undergraduate Research Council of Valdosta State University invites undergraduate students to showcase their research, scholarship, and creative activities to the VSU community at the Twenty-fifth Annual Symposium on Undergraduate Research to be held on April 15-19, 2019. The purpose of the symposium is to provide students with an opportunity to share research papers, laboratory experiments, field projects, creative performances, visual art works, or independent study projects, both completed or in-progress, between Spring Semester 2018 and Spring Semester 2019.  Papers may be considered for publication in OMNINO, the VSU undergraduate research journal. 

Upcoming Regional Conferences!!

In preparation for the Spring Symposium we also try to go to regional conferences across the state. Check out the flyers linked below for further information. You can apply for reimbursements so it helps with your travel expenses. Please contact us on how to participate.

GURC Conference at the Univeristy of North Georgia on November 2-3, 2018 in Gainsville, GA.

NCUR Conference at the Kennesaw State University on April 10-13, 2019 in Kennesaw GA.

Travel Money Checklist

Benefits of participating 

  • Develop writing and presentation skills for the future.
  • Prepare for medical school, law school, graduate studies, and business opportunities.
  • Attend Undergraduate Symposiums around the region.
  • Earn the potential for publication.
  • Enjoy the community of student and faculty researchers.

Please visit our How to Participate page for instructions on how to get started with your undergraduate research.

Important Due Dates:

  • Abstracts to Department or Program Representatives: 2/22/19                                       
  • URC Representatives send Abstracts to the Symposium Coordinator and Students Complete the online Student Information Form: 3/1/19
  • Notification to Students Selected to Participate in the Symposium: 3/18/19
  • PDFs of Posters to Departmental or Program Representatives for Publication after the Symposium: 5/3/19    

Council Representatives for the Undergraduate Research Symposium for 2019:

 

African American Studies

Dr. Tom Aiello

taiello@valdosta.edu

Art

Dr. Glenda Swan

gmswan@valdosta.edu

Biology

Dr. Timothy Fort

tjfort@valdosta.edu

Chemistry

Dr. Gopeekrishnan Sreenilayam


Communication Arts

Dr. Michael Eaves

meaves@valdosta.edu

Communication Sciences & Disorders & Special Education

Dr. Crystal Randolph

crandolph@valdosta.edu

Computer Science

Dr. Anurag Dasgupta

adasgupta@valdosta.edu

Elementary Education

Dr. Lucia Lu

lylu@valdosta.edu

English

Dr. Ubaraj Katawal

ukatawal@valdosta.edu

History

Dr. Charles Johnson

ctjohnso@valdosta.edu

Honors College

Dr. Michael Savoie

mpsavoie@valdosta.edu

Kinesiology and Physical Education

Dr. Matthew Grant

matgrant@valdosta.edu

Langdale College of Business

Dr. Zulal Denaux

zsdenaux@valdosta.edu

Library

Ms. Emily Rogers

ecrogers@valdosta.edu

Mathematics

Dr. Charles Kicey

ckicey@valdosta.edu

Middle, Secondary, Reading & Deaf Education

Dr. Sean Lennon

smlennon@valdsota.edu

Modern and Classical Languages

Dr. Karen Acosta

karacosta@valdosta.edu

Music

Dr. Kenneth Kirk

kkirk@valdosta.edu

Nursing & Health Sciences

Ms. Laura Carter

lauracarter@valdosta.edu

Philosophy, Religious Studies & Native American Studies

Dr. Lavonna Lovern

llovern@valdosta.edu

Physics, Astronomy, Geosciences & Engineering Studies

Dr. Dereth Drake

djdrake@valdosta.edu

Political Science

Dr. Marc Pufong

mpufong@valdosta.edu

Psychology

Dr. Charles Talor

crtalor@valdosta.edu

Sociology, Anthropology & Criminal Justice

Dr. Fred Knowles

feknowles@valdosta.edu

Women’s and Gender Studies

Dr. Anne Price

annprice@valdosta.edu

Don’t see your department or program listed? Please contact Dr. Lavonna Lovern about opportunities to present at the symposium llovern@valdosta.edu.

This Year's Symposium on Undergraduate Research Program

Pending...

Previous Symposiums on Undergraduate Research

Program Cover 2014
April 5 & 6, 2012 Program (pdf)

April 5 & 6, 2012 Abstracts (pdf

April 1 & 2, 2013 Program (pdf)

April 1 & 2, 2013 Abstracts (pdf)

April 8, 9, & 10, 2014 Program (pdf)

April 8, 9, & 10, 2014 Abstracts (pdf)
April 13, 14, 15, & 16 2015 Program (pdf) April 4, 5, 6 & 7 2016 Program (pdf)
April 10, 11, 12. & 13 2018 Program

Additional Resources

OMNIMO

Office of Student Diversity and Inclusion

Office of Social Equity

Odum Library